Abuja Court rules suit seeking removal of Saraki and Dogara

A Federal high court situated in Abuja, rule out a suit which declared 54 seats of lawmakers in the National Assembly vacant which defected from their various political parties which they were flag bearers and won in 2015

The lawmakers whom the suit seeking removal include : Senator Bukola Saraki, The Senate President, Yakubu Dogara, Speaker House of Representatives

While delivering the judgement, Justice Okon Abang on Friday 17 May, said that based on the ruling of the highest court which is the Supreme Court, which gave requirements that would allow the defection stand, says that the legislators could not meet the requirements.

The judgement was also followed by a suit filed by Legal Defence Assistance Project (LEDAP), which challenged the defection of Senator Bukola Saraki, The president of the Senate, Yakubu Dogara Speaker House of Representatives and 52 other Legislators

LEDAP requested the court to order the legislators to vacate their various seats and return all salaries and allowances they earned since defection, arguing that the legislators defected from their various parties because of their selfish interests other than division in their parties as described by the law.

Justice Abang said that in the case of Senator Godswill Akpabio, he was not in violation of the law because he didn’t decamp to the All Progressive Congress with the facts before the Court.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *